Skip to content

The Top 4 Features on My Adobe Captivate Wish List

April 16, 2012

After recently providing a discussion on the differences between Adobe’s Captivate versions 4, 5 and 5.5 I found myself circling around the good old “it would be really cool if it had this feature” wagon again.  I’ve worked with Captivate since its earliest days as RoboDemo under Macromedia.  Each new version has brought more features and thankfully more stability.  I’ve also worked with other eLearning authoring tools such as Articulate Studio and TechSmith’s Camtasia offerings.  Each has its strengths and weaknesses but since Captivate is what we use here at Traveling Coaches, I’ll keep my wish list focused there.  Oh, and while I’m thinking about it Adobe, don’t bundle any of these features as separate software packages that I have to purchase as part of a “suite” in order to use.  With that said here are a few things I would like to see in future offerings of Captivate.

  • Text to speech that actually sounds like speech.  I feel that narration is an important factor in helping the learner assimilate and retain information provided through eLearning.  That’s if the audio doesn’t come across sounding like something spit out of a Speak & Spell circa 1982.  There are more natural sounding text to speech offerings out there, just not in the current offering of Captivate.
  • A built in screen snip tool.  Yes, I know Captivate at its very core is just a really fancy screen capturing tool but I want something that will allow me to capture a small area without reworking my initial recording window.  If you’ve worked with any eLearning authoring tool for more than 3 hours you know how necessary it is to have a companion screen capturing tool such as SnagIt or Windows Snip handy.  This allows you to go back and capture portions of a screen that Captivate either missed or did capture and you need to cover in post editing.   Ideally this would be launched from within Captivate and allow me to capture a portion of the screen I designate, and then automatically save into the Captivate library greatly improving workflow.
  • Project rescaling for the masses.  By masses I mean the various devices we need to support in today’s mobile obsessed environments.  Sure, by using Captivate 5.5 we can develop for the iPad, iPhone, desktop and so forth – just not all at once.  Captivate leaves us with two choices in that regard: record multiple times with multiple output dimensions in mind or rescale in post editing.  Right now rescaling involves either crunching or bloating pixels or cropping off part of the recorded project.  Now you’re saying “Jim, be realistic.  How can you record once and take full advantage of various physical screen dimensions?”  To that I would answer “I have no idea, but…”.  How about a post-production publishing wizard that allows you to pull only some or all assets (captions, audio, images, etc.) into each platform you are publishing to?  Hey, this is a wish list isn’t it?
  • Better JavaScript and now HTML5 authoring would be nice (and helpful with the previous wish).

What are your thoughts?  What would you like to see in future offerings of Captivate?  Sound off and let us know.  You can also let Adobe know by requesting a feature be added to future offerings here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 3:09 pm

    Some great ideas here Jim. Esp. like the scaling. You might also like: http://captivate6ideas.ideascale.com/

Leave a Reply

