Skip to content

What’s on your Bookshelf?

October 26, 2010

To be honest, I had planned to write about strategic learning objectives this month. But, I was waiting for a book  to arrive in the mail I thought would help me wrap up all the bits and pieces I’ve discovered through my own experiences the last few months including online research. The book arrived too late for me to have enough time to read and analyze the content.

Contrast that experience to the two other books I purchased at the same time that were available in e-book format. Certainly, there is that instant gratification factor, but I’ve discovered I’ve also been able to contrast and compare and look for evidence in each book that supports or contradicts the other offering me a better learning experience.

While the Association of American Publishers reports e-book sales are up 192.9% this year, I am new to e-books and don’t have a physical e-book reader. I learned the popular vendors now offer PC and/or smartphone apps that allow me to read the same book on multiple devices. I happened to be shopping with Barnes & Noble so the apps I downloaded are companions to the Nook (Barnes & Noble e-book reader) which allow me to highlight and bookmark as I read. As an extra bonus, I can compile a summary of the highlights and bookmarks. When I’m reading a professional development book, I can use the summary to reinforce my understanding of the content by bringing forward concepts I felt compelled to mark for whatever reason.

I was so excited about this new way to read books that I also downloaded the free Adobe Digital Edition e-book reader to experiment with the concept of rich media learning content. Because the interface is designed for digital reading, I’ve added and organized my stash of PDF files. If I find something too good to keep to myself, I can even lend an e-book to a friend. Is this the “new” book club? So far, I am very pleased with my digital reading experiment and have already started thinking about what this means for social learning opportunities.

Don’t get me wrong, I still like the feel of a book and the touch of paper, but sometimes I really need the information more than the experience. And who knows, the digital experience might win out for me over time.

Here’s what I currently have on my bookshelf:

  • Project Management for Trainers by Lou Russell
  • Different: Escaping the Competitive Herd by Youngme Moon
  • Social Media for Trainers: Techniques for Enhancing and Extending Learning by Jane Bozarth
  • The New Social Learning: A Guide to Transforming Organizations Through Social Media by Marcia Conner & Tony Bingham
One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 11:28 pm

    Nice article. I also struggle with the thought of giving up the smell of the book, the tangible feel of the pages, being able to monitor my progress as I make it a third, half-way and almost through, but as I get older (imagine that), it does become more about the information than the experience. Well put. But they could at least give us some scratch and sniff e-readers, yeah?

Leave a Reply

