Skip to content

I am a crazy maker

August 3, 2010

It’s official…I am a Crazy Maker. Actually, I am a Visionary/Crazy Maker..full of ideas and inspiration, goal oriented and creative, always coming up with new things we should be doing.

Let me share with you how I received this new label, which by the way, I do own up to. In renewing my membership with ASTD, I received a free webinar entitled “Getting Things Done: the Art of Stress-Free Productivity” presented by David Allen. David Allen is the creator of the Getting Things Done® (GTD®) methodology that has helped people transform a fast-paced, overwhelming, overcommitted life into one that is more balanced and has more successful outcomes. In preparation for the webinar, I took the perspective and control assessment on David’s website www.gtdiq.com and my results were Visionary/Crazy Maker (see chart.)

On the Visionary front, I have a non-stop creative mind which is fueled by the numerous brainstorming sessions with various teams at Traveling Coaches and the mind mapping I do to get ideas out of my head.

On the Crazy Maker side – with all the ideas, projects, and commitments, I do at times feel overwhelmed. And, I can contribute to others feeling overwhelmed.

GTD’s recommendation is that I need more control. Specifically, I need a way to capture information and move it to next action and tracking. Capturing information as it comes in and moving it to next action are the keys to getting things done.

Because so much of the information I receive is in Outlook, I started looking at how I can use Outlook 2010 a bit differently to gain more control over the information that comes into my inbox every day. Over the next few weeks, I will be looking at the enhanced features of Outlook and how they can help me be more in control and more productive.

I can already tell that just by using Conversation view, I can easily get the latest on any conversation in progress and quickly delete messages that I don’t need to keep in my inbox.  I have setup a few folders in my Outlook inbox to help me capture and track information. The @Action is the folder that I use for keeping things moving. The Next Action items are there. The @Completed is where I will store what has been accomplished. This information will be useful to keep up with this year’s accomplishments. The @Reference is where I store those items that need more research to determine what the next action is. The @Waiting for is where I put the messages (from my sent items) that I’ve sent out and am waiting for a response.

There is more for me to do to organize my inbox and gain more control over my day, but I am determined to get there. More control. Less Crazy Maker.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

